Taking part

© Florian Ganslmeier

Unfortunately, there are no more places available for »Türmer München« – the Munich Vigil – until the end of the project.

How do I become a »Türmer«?

Anyone aged 16 or older who is free from vertigo and sure-footed can be a Türmer: Just choose a date in our calendar on this page, click on it and enter your name and contact details. Before you sign up in our calendar, please read this page carefully and keep in mind that you can only participate once.

When you have registered, you will receive a confirmation by email with your date and all important information about your participation and about the events you have to attend.

The times on the calendar are the starting times of your hour in the Shelter. In the morning it begins exactly at sunrise, in the evening exactly one hour before sunset. Please make sure that you meet up with your Companion 30 minutes before your Vigil. They will take you to the Shelter and look after you. After your Vigil, allow 20 to 30 minutes to have your photo taken on the roof of the Gasteig and to record your thoughts and feelings.

What events apart from my hour as a Türmer await me?

With your participation in »The Munich Vigil«, you agree to take part in an approximately one-hour long workshop with about 25 other participants. Dancers and choreographers trained by Joanne Leighton will introduce the concept of the performance and show you exercises for holding your physical and mental presence. These exercises are designed to prepare you to remain focussed for an hour in one place – the Shelter – and mindfully perceive your own body, thoughts and feelings as well as your surroundings. Organisational matters will also be clarified in this workshop, which you must attend in order to participate.

Furthermore, with your participation you agree to spend the hour of your Vigil alone in the Shelter and without any means of communication or watch, and to be photographed and to record your impressions immediately afterwards. You agree for your photo together with your name and your memories to be published in the blog on this website and in other media channels, as well as in the Vigil Book, containing the »traces« of all Vigils at the end of the project.

Each Türmer should also take the opportunity to come to one of the Sharing Events that take place every three months, in which all previous project participants will meet. Performances and plenty of opportunity for exchanging your experiences await you here, as well as the chance to meet Joanne Leighton in person. The project lives from the exchange of participants’ experiences – don’t miss it!

The Vigil year will begin with a festive Opening Ceremony on 12.12.2020 and end with a Closing Ceremony on 12.12.2021, each with live performances. Come by and find out more!

What can I expect on my Vigil?

Half an hour before your Vigil begins, you will meet with your Companion, who will take you to the Shelter, show you around, look after your belongings and make sure that you feel comfortable and that everything goes as planned. He/she is your contact person on site – before, during and after your Vigil. At the end of the hour, he/she will take a photo of you and take you to a nearby room where you can record your impressions.

OK, I want to take part! Where do I start?

Choose your preferred date now and enter your name in the calendar! Here are a few thoughts by Joanne Leighton to help you choose a date and time: »Are you a morning or an evening person? Do you want to celebrate your birthday, the birth of a child or your wedding anniversary in a special way? Would you like to remember the day when you first moved to this city or returned after a long journey in a special way? Choose a date and a time that have a special meaning for you and find your own personal reason to hold your Vigil.«

Calendar

Does »The Munich Vigil« have disabled access?

The Shelter does not have disabled access. A lift is available only up to the 4th floor. From there, a staircase with 26 steps and a narrow scaffold (about 50 cm wide) with 29 steps and a raised handrail (110 cm) located outside leads to the Shelter. Unfortunately, there is no access to the Shelter for wheelchair users and persons who need walking aids. We also cannot recommend participation in »The Munich Vigil« to people with vertigo or a fear of heights. Nevertheless, please contact us, so that we can search for an individual solution for you to take part, at +49 (0)89 480 98-808 (Mon to Wed from 11 AM to 3 PM) or via email at tuermer@gasteig.de.

How do I become a Companion?

As a Companion, you will have the opportunity of becoming more involved in the project and to get a glimpse behind the scenes of the Gasteig. As a former Türmer, you are in an ideal position for this role and can give new Türmer the chance to be accompanied during their hour in the Shelter, just as you were accompanied. You have the responsible task of ensuring that their Vigil runs smoothly and that they feel safe and looked after. You are also the communicative and personal link between the Türmer and the »Türmer München« project as a whole.

You will meet at a designated meeting point in the Gasteig thirty minutes before the Vigil to give the Türmer enough time to get into the mood for their Vigil, take their belongings, such as hand bag, mobile phone, watch, etc. into safekeeping and accompany them to the Shelter on the roof of the Philharmonic Hall. You then wait in a nearby room and pick the participant up again after their Vigil, take a picture of them, give them time and space to express their thoughts and experiences and finally accompany them back to your original meeting point.

You are never alone in all this: Together with about 25 other Companions, you will always be in close contact with the Gasteig’s project team. We are open to your questions and would welcome your own initiatives arising from your exchange with other Companions that can make the Türmer year even more diverse.

Who can participate as a Companion?

  • You must be at least 18 years old, free from vertigo and sure-footed.
  • You must have already participated with a Vigil of your own.
  • You will take part in a briefing of about two hours, which will prepare you for your role and provide you with further, more in-depth information about the project.
  • You agree to accompany Türmer at sunrise and/or sunset for at least one week or on 7 separate days in the course of the Vigil year.
  • Each Vigil will require about two hours of your time.

What else do I need to know?

You will not be paid for being a Companion. Contact us and we will look for a date for your Vigil and you will receive a comprehensive briefing from us for your role as Companion: You accompany the Türmer, we accompany you!

As Companion, you are invited to the Closing Ceremonys as well as all quarterly Sharing Events for participants.

How do I register?

If you are interested, please write to us at tuermer@gasteig.de.
We will then contact you to clarify everything else.

Or call us at +49 (0)89 480 98-808.
You can reach us Mon to Wed from 11 AM to 3 PM.

en_USEnglish

Mitmachen

© Florian Ganslmeier

Seit 1. Juli 2021 sind leider alle Termine für »Türmer München« bis zum Ende der Performance vergeben.

Wie werde ich Türmer?

Alle Interessierten ab 16 Jahren, die schwindelfrei und trittfest sind, können grundsätzlich Türmer werden. Dazu suchst Du Dir in unserem Kalender auf dieser Seite einen Wunschtermin aus, klickst diesen an und trägst Dich mit Deinem Namen und Deinen Kontaktdaten ein. Bevor Du Dich in unseren Kalender einträgst, lies diese Seite bitte aufmerksam durch und beachte, dass Du nur einmal teilnehmen kannst!

Nach Deiner Anmeldung erhältst Du eine Bestätigung per E-Mail mit Deinem Termin und allen wichtigen Informationen zur Teilnahme und den für Dich verpflichtenden Veranstaltungen.

Die Uhrzeiten im Kalender sind die Beginnzeiten Deiner Stunde im Aussichtsraum. Morgens beginnt diese pünktlich mit dem Sonnenaufgang, abends endet sie mit dem Sonnenuntergang. Bitte beachte, dass Du Dich bereits 30 Minuten vor Beginn der Stunde mit Deinem/r Begleiter/in triffst, der/die Dich zum Aussichtsraum bringt und sich vor Ort um Dich kümmert. Plane anschließend noch ca. 20 bis 30 Minuten ein, um ein Foto von Dir auf dem Gasteig-Dach machen zu lassen und Deine Gedanken und Gefühle festzuhalten.

Welche Veranstaltungen außer meiner Türmer-Stunde warten noch auf mich?

Mit Deiner Teilnahme als Türmer erklärst Du Dich dazu bereit, an einem ca. 1-stündigen Workshop mit rund 25 weiteren Türmern teilzunehmen. Von Joanne Leighton ausgebildete Tänzer/innen und Choreograf(inn)en führen hier in das Konzept der Performance ein und zeigen Euch Übungen zum körperlichen und mentalen Präsentsein. Diese Übungen sollen darauf vorbereiten, eine Stunde lang an einem Ort – dem Aussichtsraum – aufmerksam zu verweilen und den eigenen Körper, die Gedanken und Gefühle sowie sein Umfeld aufmerksam wahrnehmen zu können. Auch Organisatorisches wird in diesem für Deine Teilnahme verpflichtenden Workshop abgeklärt.

Weiterhin stimmst Du mit Deiner Teilnahme zu, die Stunde im Aussichtsraum für Dich allein und ohne Kommunikationsmittel und Uhr zu verbringen, im Anschluss an die Stunde fotografiert zu werden und Deine Eindrücke danach kurz festzuhalten. Du erklärst Dich damit einverstanden, dass Dein Foto zusammen mit Deinem Namen und Deinen Erinnerungen im Türmer-Blog auf dieser Website und gegebenenfalls in weiteren Medien veröffentlicht wird sowie in einer Abschlusspublikation, die am Ende des Türmer-Jahres die »Erinnerungsspuren« aller Türmer enthält.

Jeder Türmer sollte außerdem die Möglichkeit wahrnehmen, zu einem der vierteljährlich stattfindenden Austauschtreffen zu kommen, bei dem jeweils alle bisherigen Teilnehmenden des Projekts zusammenkommen. Ein künstlerischer Rahmen und viel Gelegenheit zum Austausch erwarten Euch hier, sowie die Chance, die Künstlerin Joanne Leighton persönlich kennenzulernen. Das Projekt lebt vom Austausch untereinander – lasst Euch das nicht entgehen!

Der Beginn und das Ende des Türmer-Jahres wird festlich und künstlerisch umrahmt mit einer Eröffnungszeremonie am 12.12.2020 und einer Abschlusszeremonie am 12.12.2021. Kommt auch dort vorbei und lasst Euch überraschen!

Wie läuft meine Stunde über der Stadt ab?

30 Minuten vor Beginn Deiner Stunde über der Stadt triffst Du Dich mit Deinem/r Begleiter/in, der/die selbst ein ehemaliger Türmer ist. Dein/e Begleiter/in ist Deine Ansprechperson vor Ort – vor, während und nach Deiner Stunde über der Stadt. Sie bringt Dich zum Aussichtsraum, zeigt Dir alles, gibt auf Deine Sachen acht und sorgt dafür, dass Du Dich wohlfühlst und alles wie geplant verläuft. Im Anschluss an Deine Stunde macht sie ein Foto von Dir und bringt Dich in einen nahgelegenen Raum, in dem Du das Erlebte festhalten kannst.

Ich habe Lust bekommen und bin bereit mitzumachen!

Dann suche Dir jetzt Deinen Wunschtermin aus und trage Dich in den Kalender ein! Ein persönlicher Gedanke dazu von Joanne Leighton: »Bist Du ein Morgen- oder ein Abendmensch? Möchtest Du Deinen Geburtstag, die Geburt eines Kindes oder Deinen Hochzeitstag auf besondere Weise feiern? Möchtest Du Dich an den Tag, an dem Du zum ersten Mal in diese Stadt gekommen, hierhergezogen oder von einer langen Reise wieder zurückgekommen bist, auf besondere Weise erinnern? Wähle ein Datum und eine Zeit, die eine besondere Bedeutung für Dich haben und finde Deinen ganz persönlichen Grund, Deine Stunde über der Stadt zu verbringen.«

Zum Kalender

Ist Türmer München barrierefrei?

Der Zugang zum Aussichtsraum ist nicht barrierefrei. Ein Aufzug ist nur bis zum 4. Obergeschoss vorhanden. Von dort aus führt ein Treppenhaus mit 26 Stufen und ein im Außenbereich liegender schmaler Gerüstturm (Breite ca. 50 cm) mit 29 Trittstufen und erhöhtem Handlauf (110cm) zum Aussichtsraum. Für Rollstuhlfahrer/innen und Personen mit Gehhilfen ist der Zugang zum Aussichtsraum leider nicht möglich. Für Besucher mit Schwindelbeschwerden oder Höhenangst können wir die Teilnahme an »Türmer München« leider nicht empfehlen. Bitte kontaktiert uns trotzdem gerne und wir suchen nach einer individuellen Lösung, um eine Teilnahme am Projekt zu ermöglichen: 089 480 98-808 (Mo–Mi 11:00–15:00 Uhr) oder per E-Mail an tuermer@gasteig.de.

Wie werde ich Begleiter/in?

Als Begleiter/in hast Du die Gelegenheit, mehr in das Projekt involviert zu werden und exklusive Einblicke hinter die Kulissen des Gasteig zu bekommen. Als ehemaliger Türmer hast Du dazu die besten Voraussetzungen und kannst neuen Türmern die Chance geben, auf ihrem Weg begleitet zu werden, wie auch Du begleitet wurdest. Du hast dabei die verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe, für den Türmer einen reibungslosen Ablauf seiner Stunde über der Stadt zu gewährleisten und dafür zu sorgen, dass er sich aufgehoben und versorgt fühlt. Du bist außerdem die kommunikative und persönliche Verbindung zwischen den Türmern und dem Projekt »Türmer München« als Ganzes.

30 Minuten vor der jeweiligen Stunde über der Stadt triffst Du Dich an einem festgelegten Treffpunkt am Gasteig, um dem Türmer genug Zeit zu geben, sich auf die Stunde einzustimmen, seine Utensilien wie Tasche, Handy, Uhr etc. in Empfang zu nehmen und ihn zum Aussichtsraum auf dem Dach der Philharmonie zu führen. Während der Stunde wartest Du in einem nahgelegenen Raum und holst den Türmer nach Ablauf seiner Stunde wieder ab, machst ein Foto von ihm, gibst ihm Zeit und Raum, seine Gedanken und Erfahrungen festzuhalten und begleitest ihn zum Abschluss wieder zum ursprünglichen Treffpunkt.

Dabei bist Du nicht allein: gemeinsam mit ca. 25 weiteren Begleiter(inne)n bist Du stets in engem Austausch mit dem Projektteam des Gasteig. Wir sind offen für Eure Anliegen und unterstützen auch eigene Initiativen, die aus dem Begleiter/innen-Kreis kommen und die das Türmer-Jahr noch vielfältiger machen können.

Welche Voraussetzungen muss ich als Begleiter/in mitbringen?

  • Du bist mindestens 18 Jahre alt, schwindelfrei und trittsicher
  • Du hast zuvor selbst schon als Türmer teilgenommen
  • Du nimmst an einem ca. 2-stündigen verpflichtenden Briefing teil, das Dich auf Deine Rolle vorbereitet und in dem Du ein vertieftes Verständnis vom Projekt erhältst
  • Du erklärst Dich dazu bereit, die Türmer mindestens eine Woche bzw. an mindestens 7 einzelnen Tagen innerhalb des Türmer-Jahres bei Sonnenaufgang und/oder Sonnenuntergang zu begleiten
  • Du investierst ca. 2 Stunden Zeit pro Türmer

Was muss ich noch wissen?

Die Tätigkeit als Begleiter/in ist unentgeltlich. Melde Dich gerne, und wir suchen nach einem zeitnahen Termin für Dich als Türmer. Du erhältst von uns ein umfassendes Briefing, bevor Du in Deine Begleiter/in-Rolle schlüpfst: Du begleitest die Türmer – wir begleiten Dich!

Du bist außerdem herzlich zur Abschlusszeremonie sowie zu allen vierteljährlichen Austauschtreffen der Türmer eingeladen.

Wo muss ich mich melden?

Bei Interesse schreib uns bitte an tuermer@gasteig.de.
Wir melden uns dann bei Dir, um alles Weitere zu klären.

Oder ruf uns an unter Tel.: 089 480 98-808.
Wir sind von Mo bis Mi von 11:00 bis 15:00 Uhr erreichbar.

de_DEDeutsch